Tantric tradition tells us that each person has 7 energy centers that are called chakras.  These spinning centers of energy are connection points between the body and the mind (2014).  The Chopra Center notes that if the flow of energy in one or more of these centers are blocked, there may be a resultant illness that surfaces from either the physical, mental or emotional being of our person (2014).  Today’s post will give the basic description of each chakra along with its location and associated color.  In subsequent posts we will discuss: energy blocks, balancing, and ways to nourish our chakras with specific foods that resonate with each center.


What are Chakras?

Chakras are spinning centers that can collect energy about the health of our environment on a vibratory level.  This information is gathered via: color, ultra-violet rays, radio or microwaves, and even another person’s aura (2014).  Additionally,  we can send out energy that affects other persons or even the environment as a whole.  In other words, any being that we contact can be affected by our moods and vice versa.

The centers are located along the spinal column starting from the tailbone and rise to the crown, or top of our head.  Each one governs a main organ/gland and is connected to other body parts that resonate on the same frequency, and are associated with a specific color (2014).  According to Tantric Tradition, a chakra has its own intelligence center and is connected to us on a physical, emotional, mental , and spiritual level (2014).

The 7 Chakras

The following are basic descriptions of our chakras which were taken from a few sources that I found during my research for the this post.  There are multiple sources out there on the internet that may reference different colors for each center.  What I present to you seems to be the common theme amongst my references.  I encourage you to do your own research or consult a Reiki practitioner who can provide further information on this subject matter.



The Root (base) chakra is found in the tailbone of our spine and is associated with the color red.  This energy center represents the foundation of our being with respect to our material world.  Examples include; food, money, and security issues.  The ability to stand up for yourself also falls into this realm (2014).



Moving up the spinal column, we find the next energy center known as the Sacral (Spleen) chakra.  The Sacral is found in our lower abdominal area a couple of inches below the belly button and is associated with the color orange.  This center governs our feelings and the ability to accept others on both a social and intimate level.  Issues of  well-being, pleasure, and sexuality arise from here (2014).

Solar Plexus

The third chakra known as the Solar Plexus is located above the belly button near the stomach and is represented by the color yellow.  Under this energy center falls the domains of self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.  The Solar Plexus also controls our right to think, ego, and humor (2014).


 Located right in the center of the chest we find the Heart chakra with an association to the color green.  Here we find love, joy, forgiveness, inner peace, and compassion.  The Heart also allows us to come to terms and accept ourselves for who we are and our place in this world (2014).


Moving into the throat region of the spinal column we find the Throat chakra with its companion color of blue.  This energy center governs our ability to speak and express ourselves in a truthful manner.  Loyalty, trust, organization, and planning are also found here (2014).

Third Eye

Centered in the forehead we find the Third Eye (Brow) chakra which is drawn to the color indigo. This spinning vortex guides our ability to think and make decisions.  It is how we see and trust our intuition, imagination, and wisdom.  It also helps us to rid ourselves of repressed feelings and negative thoughts (2014).

Crown Chakra

At  the very top of our head is the Crown chakra found as violet hues on the color spectrum.  It is here where we become connected to our spirituality and God,  or higher intelligence depending upon your individual beliefs.  It also guides us to trust in the universe as well as integrate our consciousness and subconsciousness into a superconsciousness.

This is by no means is a complete discussion of the significance of the chakras.  As I said earlier, do your own research if what I have written here peaks your interest.  In the next segment, we will learn what happens if either an individual chakra or multiple chakras become(s) unbalanced or blocked.


ChakraEnergy.com (2014).  The Seven Chakras.  Retrieved from http:// chakraenergy.com/seven.html on 6/24/2014.

The Chopra Center (2014).  Chakras.  Retrieved from http://www.chopra.com/community/online-library/terms/chakras on 8/5/2014.

MindBodyGreen (2014).  The 7 Chakras for Beginners.  Retrieved from http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-91/The-7-Chakras-for-Beginners.html on 8/5/2014.

Pictures retrieved from Google Images on 7/10/18